Who I Am

There is a lot of sayings going around about how we should be who we are and embrace our uniqueness and all that self-realization tosh! Honestly speaking, most days, days that are not today, I like those sayings and quotes and all. Today though I am in a mood to ask what is the use of them! Looking at the world around me all I see are self-obsessed, selfish people who go around preaching the mantra ‘can’t trust anyone’, ‘at the end of the day you have to look after yourself’.

So what have we created at the end of the day with all this “I am unique” and “Look after yourself first and then you can look after others” and every other self-indulgent phrase out there? I will tell you what! A bunch of selfish, uncaring individuals who have lost empathy, compassion and the will to care cause it has been taught them that they should think they are always right, always first, always deserving and always, always the ones who are being wronged!

I am sad to say I am one such individual as well. I am not happy about it. I am pissed off at it! Who I am is someone who I never used to be! I used to be caring, understanding, doing my best for everyone no matter who they are. I used to have a heart and mind that was capable of being more than who I am at this moment typing this out. I don’t like me! I can blame a lot of things, but at the end of the day I am someone who has always been full aware that no one is to blame, not truly for the person you become. The life that is handed to you is God’s gift to you, some days it does feel like a curse, but at the end of the day once a gift is given the ownership passes from the giver to the recipient. From that day you are responsible for your own life!

There is a saying:

“Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream.”

Well I am not dead yet! So here’s to a quote I can live by!

Leave a Reply

