Doing the Right Thing

“Each individual in fact has moral responsibility for the acts which he personally performs; no one can be exempted from this responsibility, and on the basis of it everyone will be judged by God himself.”

                                                                  –Pope John Paul II

“When you blame others, you give up your power to change.’  

  ~Author Unknown 

Lately I have been thinking about doing the right thing. If I am being utterly honest, I have always put the responsibility of doing what’s right on someone else’s shoulders. I somehow manage to convince myself that it wasn’t my fault when I did something I knew was wrong but it was someone else’s entirely. Deluding me is an art I have managed to perfect!

As I have waded through my past actions, I realised that the choice was and has always been mine to do what I knew was right. I am responsible for doing what is right!

Doing the right thing is an individual responsibility that can’t be handed to someone else.

Even though it is easy to blame someone else for your wrong actions, or to blame them for ‘making’ you do something wrong, or even to say “Oh, someone else will do what is right”, it is all a whole lot of fairy tales we tell ourselves not to feel guilty about our actions or lack of such actions.

From now on, I take responsibility for my actions to do what is right, to do it without waiting for someone else to. I am called as an individual to do it, we all are. Our job is not to look at others or wait for them to do what we know to be right (they may not do it or see it as the right thing) but to do it ourselves. We are to be the light, after all one candle can light a lot more. So, here’s to doing what is right no matter what! Also, here’s to taking responsibility for doing wrong!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

