Rose-Coloured Glasses

I am a friendly individual, who always has a smile for everyone. I believe a smile can make someone’s day. One of my best friends would most probably say that’s a very fairytale belief, she’s the opposite of me in alot of ways but we get along superbly, as is the case when opposites become friends, but she’d be wrong on this matter. I’ve found if you smile at someone their first reaction is to smile back and smiling is always good! 🙂 I’m also a good listener, I can get along with most people. I am shy as well and a bit of an introvert so sometimes, I may seem a bit standoffish and aloof. Take the time to know me, and you’ll most probably find a good friend.

As I said, I can get along with almost anyone. However, I have met someone who I just cannot get along with, no matter how hard I try! Now for a person like me this is a huge dilemma. I don’t like to be hurtful or mean but I can’t really be nice to this person either. It’s leaving me feeling guilty and confused and honestly I’m at the point of losing sleep over it. This is the first time I have met someone I cannot get along with this strongly. I am utterly confused as to what to do about the matter!

Why am I, putting this on a blog post, you may ask. I want to clear my head and figure it out and the best way I know how to do this is through my writing!

I have been accused of being naive and looking at the world through rose-coloured glasses by alot of friends. I suppose it’s not totally uncalled for as I’ll be the last person to think anything bad of anyone and first to believe the best of everyone. A trait that has left me hurt quite a few times but I never learn.

My problem with this world has always been how selfish human beings seem to be and how uncaring and mean towards each other. How they’d do anything to get ahead, even if that means stepping on someone else to do so. That is the way of the world now isn’t it. We live in such a competitive environment with everyone trying to get ahead that we really don’t think too much of how we get up there. People fall by the wayside but we don’t care. Why should we, we have our own places to go and no time to help them and anyway what could we possibly do? That is the opinion of the majority of people and it’s disheartening. Any regard for our fellow human beings seem a myth from the past!

I suppose this is why I cannot get along with this person. This person is an example of what I cannot stand in this world and the person is right in front of me! My rose-coloured glasses cannot make this look good in anyway and they are starting to crack. It’s like being faced with your worst nightmare; you have spent your entire life convincing yourself it does not exist, it’s not real and then it shows up in front of your face and you are faced with a truth you do not want to accept. So to be honest it’s not the person I cannot accept, what I cannot accept is the truth I chose to be blind to. This person just happens to embody that truth.

Having said that, this does not mean I give up on the world and stop looking at life through rose-coloured glasses. Rose-coloured glasses for me mean, choosing to be positive even in the midst of a sphere of negativity.

What it has done is made me realise that the world has its darkness, people have darkness, not all but alot, and not always in big amounts but it’s still there. It has also made me realise we need more people donning rose-coloured glasses. Why? Simply because they keep hoping, they keep trying to make things better. They smile, they lend a helping hand, they listen, they care, they are light in the darkness. Even if this world has very few lights, the fact that they are there means we are not utterly lost.

So yeah, the person may believe all the negatives I have mentioned above but I shall no longer let that dishearten me or make me not like the person. Even the people who choose to believe and act the way this world does deserve compassion and tolerance. I won’t let one person blight my outlook. It has just strengthened my belief that I don’t have to play by the rules of this world. I choose to play by a completely new set of rules and let the world try to win over that! 

 “People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. 
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. 
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.” 
― Mother Teresa

5 Comments

  1. I’m the exact same way. I tend to only see the good in people and refuse to see their bad points until they really hurt me. *sigh* I guess in time the rose-colored glasses will have to come off.

Leave a Reply

