A Happy Easter and Back on Social Media

So today is Easter, the day Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ our Lord. It’s supposed to be a joyous day spent in contemplation of His victory over death and our redemption through that. It also marks the end of the Lent period.

I woke up really early and went to Mass at the church I have started attending. I have been to the church services there a handful of times, three if I am being really honest but each time has left me feeling at peace! Peace, absolute, utter peace. That’s an amazing feeling for someone who has never really had a taste of it before. Amazing how we instinctively know what we are feeling at times even though we’ve never experienced it before.

Mass was great. I sang along to the hymns. I followed the sermon. I must be honest and admit that I did get distracted by two adorable little girls in the pew in front of us. How can anyone not get distracted by two little children? I always find children have an innocence and purity that just draws your attention to them.

After Mass, I had to rush to classes. I had informed my lecturer that I’d be late as I was going to church and I was pleasantly surprised when upon getting there he told me he started the class a bit later than usual. It really did leave me very surprised. Two things came to mind:

1) God’s promises are never broken. He did say in Matthew 6:33 that we should “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” I chose to put Him before classes, even though I am worried about exams and all, and he rewarded me by the class starting much later than usual. 

2) My regard for my lecturer rose because of his action. I am just one student and yet he was kind enough to respect and understand my choice to go to church and hence start class a little later than usual. The other students didn’t mind either, they never do! 😀 

All in all this Easter has reminded me of a few truths I had forgotten and I needed reminding of. I am happy to say I am happy! 🙂

Now to tackle the issue of being back on social media, because it is an ISSUE. The first thing I noticed was it is very easy to fall back into bad habits. I hadn’t being back on social media for less than an hour before it felt like I had never been away and found myself getting pulled back into alot of time wasting. Now I did not go off social media for 40 days to get back on it like I never left! 

So that leads to the second thing, I need controls in place. Personally for me, what I realised was social media has a way of distracting me and turning me into a walking dead person. I hardly look about me or take note of what’s going on around me. I do not want to go back to that so I have decided that I will only look into my facebook and twitter after 8pm. That way I don’t get totally distracted and lost during the day and can be more productive. And honestly, do I really need to know what someone had for breakfast or what they are doing right now?

So those are the lessons and the decisions for today.  

1 Comment

  1. I also gave up social media for Lent… and like you, I also got back on this morning and felt like I had never left. Disheartening. I was thinking of just giving it up altogether, but if I ever become a real author, I’ll need some kind of social media presence.

    And like you, I’m also going to have to make a decision about my social media use/overuse. Not sure what, but I know I can’t continue my “addiction” to it.

    Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

