Boogeyman – A Need to be Remembered

A few nights ago I watched The Rise of The Guardians. I know! I know! It’s not Christmas and it’s a pretty old movie considering how many movies have come out since! In my defense, I didn’t get a chance to watch it during Christmas time cause of exams! Moreover, I also believe that a good out of season movie, especially a Christmas one, is always good for your soul in the midst of the busy year!

My simple and concise review of that movie is: IT WAS GREAT! It made me laugh, it made my eyes tear up, pulled at my heart strings in all the right ways, made me think and eventually gave me the idea for this blog post!

Jack Frost is the kind of character you can’t help but fall in love with. Oh wait!! I meant to say like! I really meant to say like! Sigh! Honestly! These fingers of mine are too much! They get away with themselves at times! They are typing unnecessary things!

Back to the topic in hand – what the story really got me thinking on was the fear of invisibility. The fear of not been remembered, the fear of people not knowing you exist! I think that’s a fear we can all relate to! I know I am sometimes afraid of it, afraid that I’ll be forgotten, that I will no longer matter; that no one will find me important! We all react to that fear in our everyday lives I think; sometimes consciously and sometimes subconsciously; we try our best to be seen, heard and felt!

I guess that’s why I felt bad for the boogeyman! He really was invisible, and that normally means being alone. No wonder he was so angry towards the four guardians! He was alone and he had all the time to dwell on it and get bitter over it! I bet, secretly he was enjoying all the attention the guardians were giving him. It must have been nice to be noticed, even if it was for the wrong reasons and they were trying to destroy him!

No one wants to be invisible! We all want to be known, cared for and loved! We want to feel that we matter, that we are believed in! It somehow gives us the courage and the strength to be us and makes facing life that much easier!

I know what it’s like to be invisible, to feel unimportant, I have also seen what it does in others to be that way! It eats away at your self-confidence, it’s lonely, it fills your head with all these thoughts that you’re not good enough, and after a while you start believing it and even when people try to ‘see’ you, you naturally repel them. Then you curse yourself for doing that!

It really is the worst thing in life to feel as though no one sees you!

We are all important. We all have a story to tell! I also believe our stories depend on how we react to others, how we interact with others; because while our stories may be about us, we do make an impact on others’ stories. The question is, what kind of impact are you having? Good or bad? Are you seeing the invisible stories and are you attempting to appear on the pages of their books? The truth of the matter is when you take the chance to ‘see’ someone you may find a story quite unlike any you’ve come across! Take the time.

We all have a story to tell…

What is yours?

Leave a Reply

