4th Day On My Journey of Lent

“Human beings are hardwired with the impulse to share our ideas, and the desire to know we’ve been heard. It’s all a part of our need for community. That’s why we’re constantly sending out signals and signs, and why we look for them from other people. We’re always waiting for messages- hoping for connection.” 

 

It’s been four days since I gave up social media for Lent and I am slowly feeling as though I’m drowning in an ocean of despair. Yes! Despair! I said despair! I know, sounds a bit melodramatic. While I do have tendencies of melodrama at times, on this occasion I am being completely honest and real! 

What I am actually missing is not facebook or twitter in themselves, what I am missing is the feeling of being surrounded by people I used to get when I was on social media! That knowledge that even though you are not actually in the presence of friends or family or even acquaintances, you just knew they were around by their activity on social media. Does that make sense? To be honest, I never really thought of it that way till now. 

The quote at the start of this post is from the TV series Touch. I just love the series and the message it tries to get across. And I think it’s pretty relevant for this post. All the time off social media has left me with plenty of time to think about things. I’m not saying I am a bumbling, unthinking fool when I am on social media, but rather that I have more time to think deeply about things now. I am coming to realise that human beings do crave communication and we do crave to be heard. When and if we don’t, we feel invisible, unimportant, lost. I guess that’s what I have been feeling lately – a bit lost to the world, like no one knows I’m here and no one cares. Which is silly on my part as I have friends I meet and talk to and text and I am always surrounded by family who love and care for me.

Social media has somehow warped my mind into believing that, if I’m not on it I am lost and alone. Yes, yes, I know, I do sound like I need serious psychiatric help. I’m saving up for that! Don’t worry!

But on a serious note, I am finally starting to understand why I “need” social media so much. It’s not a healthy reason and I am going to have to tell myself that what my mind believes to be absolutely necessary is in fact just a “want”. Not a “need”!

This period of Lent is really opening up my eyes to quite a few things. My job is to not drown in depression as I’m prone to do at times, but face whatever I am being taught. Life as they say, is the greatest teacher! But even the greatest teacher can’t teach a student who is unwilling to learn. Trust me I know that! So wish me luck on my journey of 40 days of no social media and whatever lessons it may teach! I’m sure if I keep my mind and heart open I will have come out of this a better person. 

4 Comments

  1. Hey Chathu! I’m so incredibly proud of you for what you are doing. You inspired me to do the same. I gave you a shout out in my blog, check it outhttp://1alien.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/lent-social-media/ and please e-mail me if you want to chat. Maybe we can set up a google.plus time? Love you!

Leave a Reply

