Endless Worry = Endless Unhappines

I’m the kind of person who is endlessly worrying about one thing or another in my life. I tend to dwell on the past or worry about the future. I might say I have good reason to, and I wouldn’t be too off the mark. I grew up worrying I think. It has become a habit, a bad habit, that’s been with me pretty much my whole life.

Worrying, I’ve found is very bad for you. It steals away your happiness and your energy. You tend to miss out on the present moments. You actually in a way stop living I suppose.

The way I see it, worrying is like putting yourself in a cage without any windows. All you have is darkness for company and the worries. They are like vapours that come and wrap around you like an evil spell that you can’t break free of. It drains you of your energy and leaves you feeling weary, desperate and depressed.  It makes you forget that there was light, that there is light. You start to believe all you have is darkness and that makes you feel even more lost and broken. You kind of give up then.

If worrying is a prison of darkness then obviously the way out is to find the light. For me light’s always represented by God. Even in the darkest places I think you can find some light. But the trick is to make the effort to find it!

After giving up, summoning the energy within you to search for light is not easy. It’s like trying to get up after you’ve been beaten badly, you just can’t seem to. I read though that we have a lot more within ourselves than we believe and that whatever limitations we have we’ve mostly put them on ourselves. It’s true in a way I think. Sometimes we reach the end of our rope and think we can’t go any further, and then somehow we do! So it is possible to get out of the cage!

I’ve got to learn to stop my thought processes whenever a worrying thought enters my mind. If you don’t let it take root it dies away pretty quickly. I have to remember that God is always in charge. That no matter what happens He’s in control. I have to remember His promises!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” DECLARES the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV)

“I am with you all the days (perpetually, uniformly, and on every occasion), to the [very] close {and} consummation of the age.” (Matthew 28:20 AMP)

“All things work together for good to those who love and serve Him faithfully.” (Romans 8:28)

“Come to me all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.” (John 10:27, 28)

And there are a lot more promises in the Bible that tell us not to worry, to have faith and believe that He’ll be faithful and keep His promises! Because He will! He has never yet broken a promise and something tells me He won’t start anytime soon! 

Leave a Reply

