The Freedom of Writing

My favourite subject in school was English. I looked forward to the lessons, the opportunity to put onto paper my thoughts, my imaginings! And I always smiled while doing this!

I had a hard time expressing myself as a child! I kept a lot of secrets and fears and lived life trapped in my reality. Writing was my outlet to get some of my overwhelming feelings and thoughts out of myself. It was a cleansing process. But I didn’t want anyone to know what I was talking about, so I made up stories, allegories! My imagination was always quite adept at looking at things in new ways! In this way, not only did I feel better, but I also learned to tell stories and enjoy writing!

Writing for me, has therefore, been a kind of freedom! It allowed me to spread my wings and “take to the skies” (borrowing from one of Owl City’s songs)! It gives me a confidence in myself that I normally do not possess and allows me to travel past any boundaries or lines the world might draw! It makes my heart feel lighter and lifts my spirits!

It is also how I talk to God! And that’s an on-going conversation that helps me deal with life’s challenges. It teaches me new things, opens my eyes to new views, opens my ears to new sounds and my mind to new ideas. And that’s another kind of freedom.

In my life, writing has made me free! That might sound a bit weird to some people, but it’s truth to me.

Just in case you’re wondering I still do smile when I write! 🙂

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

